Start main page content

Department of Political Science

Welcome Message from The Head of Department- Political Science

Welcome to the Department of Political Science at the University of Calabar. The Department of Political Science started academic activities in 1976 as one of the foundation departments in the Faculty of Social Sciences that came to be when the University of Calabar was created in the same year. Our Department holds a high global reputation for excellent teaching and learning facilities and procedures in a serene environment that engenders academic, and high-quality research outputs that we churn out every year. We have a deep commitment to teaching and helping students learn and acquire fundamental conceptional knowledge in addition to equipping them with tools required for the identification, analysis, and understanding of the local and international political institutions and processes. 

The Department offers carefully structured courses that lead to the award of B.Sc., M.Sc., and Ph.D. degrees in Political Science and B. Sc. degree in Peace and Conflict Studies. We have a highly rated and comprehensive course curricula carefully designed to expose students to the various fields of Political Science including comparative politics, political economy, political theory, international relations, local and international politics, to enable them to acquire skills and develop experience. These courses are professionally taught by a dedicated team of experienced academic staff led by five professors, three senior lecturers, and other low-cadre staff, and committed support staff members.

 A run-down of the profiles of members of our ever-increasing Alumni community reveals a group of successful and highly accomplished members occupying high-ranking positions in governmental, non-governmental, and inter-governmental organizations within and outside Nigeria and entrepreneurs.

 We hope you will use the information that we have provided herein in deciding to study in our awarding-winning Department. If you have any questions, comments, feedback, and suggestion, please feel free to contact the Department.

Thank you for your interest in our activities, programs, and your online visit.

Dr Atelhe George

Head of Department

Mission / Vision / Philosophy / Objective


To Produce high quality graduates and scholars in focal areas of learning with theoretical,practical and entepreneurial skills for the world of work in conducive environment through quality research and teaching


To be a centre of excellence producing globally competitive graduates and contributing significantly to development through research.


The Department’s academic program is based on the philosophy that an academic department should serve the interest of the society in which it is located while its teaching and research programs should be geared towards local, national, and international needs. However, while the local and national perspectives must be clear at all times, the comparative dimension is also essential to enrich what is being taught.


1.         To train and equip students for the administrative and managerial positions/responsibilities in government, industry and other related careers in the public and private sectors.

2.         Equip students with critical conceptual and analytical skills in understanding and discussing relevant contemporary political issues.

3.         Impart a clear understanding and importance of appropriate methodological skills for empirical and applied research.

4.         To focus the study of political science on the problems of Nigeria in particular and Africa/Third world in general.

5.         Introduce the students to the major sub-fields of political science: political theory, comparative politics, international relations, public administration, peace and conflict studies, political behavior, quantitative analysis and political economy.

6.         Encourage and prepare the students to pursue advanced studies in political science and relative fields


The Department of Political Science, University of Calabar started in 1976 as one of the foundation Departments in the Faculty of Social Sciences, which came to be when what was originally a campus of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka in 1973 gained full autonomy in 1976. It started with an undergraduate degree program leading to the award of B.Sc. (Hons) in Political Science, and its first graduands emerged in 1980.

Consequent to the expansion of the Department both in students in-take and academic staff recruitment, the Department mounted a Post-Graduate degree program from 1981 leading to the award of M.Sc/Ph.D. in political economy, political behaviour, comparative politics, international relations, and public administration. The Department was last given accreditation in November 2007.

The Bachelor of Science Programme in Political Science of the University of Calabar has been designed to provide the students with an adequate theoretical, conceptual, and empirical grounding in the study of politics as a social science discipline.

Contact Us

By Physical Address

Department of Political Science
University of Calabar
Cross River State

By Email

You Email Your Name Your Message