For a better experience, click the icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.


Dean: Prof. Ayi A. Ayi

Prof. of Inorganic Chemistry

With gratitude to God I am highly delighted to welcome you to the Faculty of Physical Sciences, comprising six Departments, namely; Departments of Physics, Pure & Applied Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science. The Faculty of Physical Sciences was created out of Faculty of Physical Sciences on October 1, 2015 with Professor Benedict Iserom Ita as her Pioneer Dean.

Each of the departments has a well-articulated specific mission and objectives as well as its specific academic programmes in line with the vision and mission of the Faculty. A total of eight academic programmes are offered by the six departments in the Faculty. With a view of producing employable graduates all programmes were designed to give the graduates independent thoughts, creativity, resourcefulness comparable with graduates all over the world. The curricula of the programmes are very robust, current and comparable to the best in the world. They also meet and surpass the basic academic standards prescribed by regulatory authorities in Nigeria

The Academic Handbook of the various departments contain details of prescribed courses and other specific requirements for all programmes offered in the Faculty at the undergraduate level. It is intended to provide precise information to students, parents and everyone interested in the academic programmes of the Faculty of Physical Sciences.


The Faculty of Physical Sciences is headed by a Dean.

There are six (6) Departments and eight (8) programmes in the Faculty. The Departments are Physics, Pure & Applied Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science. The Department of Physics runs programmes in Pure Physics and Geophysics. The Department of Pure & Applied Chemistry runs porgrammes in Chemistry and Applied Chemistry. The Department of Geology runs programme in Geology. Departments of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science also run programmes in Mathematics, Statistics and Computer science.

The current Dean of the Faculty of Physical Sciences is Professor Ayi A. Ayi (B.Sc., Ph.D) MCSN, MRSC. Professor of Inorganic Chemistry

Faculty Office