For a better experience, click the icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Dean's Welcome Page

Dean: Prof. Okpok Eta Okon

The Faculty of Biological Sciences was created on 28th May, 2015 at the 203rd Meeting of Senate, University of Calabar following the splitting of the erstwhile Faculty of Science into two Faculties, Biological Sciences and Physical Sciences.

There are Five (5) departments in the Faculty of Biological; Sciences viz Genetics & Biotechnology, Plant & Ecological Studies (Former Botany), Microbiology, Zoology & Environmental Biology and Science Laboratory Technology.

Departments of Plant & Ecological Studies, Genetics & Biotechnology and Zoology & Environmental Biology had full accreditation status effective in the year 2014. Department of Microbiology had full accreditation status effective in the year 2017 while Department of Science Laboratory Technology is preparing for resource verification.

As a Faculty, we support free and open intellectual inquiry and diversity of expressions. We sustain excellence in teaching, research, creativity and innovation. We reward merit and discourage mediocrity. We promote integrity and encourage mentorship among Faculty members. We treat our colleagues and students likewise with dignity, respect and fairness. We promote Cross-Cultural and Cross-National understanding among sister faculties within and outside our University.