For a better experience, click the icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.


Dean: Prof. Victor O. Ansa

I am delighted to welcome you to the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Calabar. The Faculty is one of four that make up the College of Medical Sciences. We are positioned to train future professionals who are set to make a difference in clinical medical practice.

Our Faculty comprises of sixteen (16) departments: Internal Medicine, Surgery, Community Medicine, Family Medicine, Padiatrics, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Radiology, Otorhinolaryngology, Anaesthesiology, Ophthalmology, Pathology, Haematology, Chemical Pathology, Medical Microbiology & Parasitology, Orthopaedics and Traumatology and Psychiatry.

While our Faculty administrative building is located on the campus of the University, the University Teaching Hospital is located less than 500 metres away.

The next generation of Physicians will be required to address the health challenges of an increasing diverse population and we are well positioned to enable our graduates achieve this.

It is my belief that every student comes to medical school with a dream for the future. At the Faculty of Medicine, University of Calabar, we help every student build on these dreams.

We invite you to join us and share in our vision as we work for a healthier tomorrow.

Professor Victor O. Ansa, MBBS, FWACP, FACP, FRCP, (London), FESC.